My my My my
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Umpire Question: 

If a game is stop due to weather and is resume on a different date. Can you add to the line up or have to stay with the original line up. Player was out of town during original game but is here for the make up game. 

 

All players who are at the second game who were at the first game MUST remain in the same batting order slot as the first game.  Players who were absent from the first game but are at the second game may be slotted into batting order for anyone present at first game but absent from second game, or used as substitutes.

 

 

 

Is it possible to "Balk" when not engaged to the "rubber"?

 

Yes. When taking a sign from the catcher and pretending to be on the rubber is an attempt to deceive the runner and is therefore a balk.  Also if a pitcher stands on or astride the rubber with or without the ball or mimics a pitching motion that is a balk. 

 

 

Umpire question
THREE DAY MAXIMUM: The maximum number of innings a player can legally pitch in three (3) consecutive days. Based on this rule, if a pitcher pitches 3 and 1/3 innings or more on day one, he cannot pitch for the next two days. is this correct?

The simple answer to the question is no, the pitcher who throws 3 and 1/3 innings on day one of the week only has to rest one day before he can legally pitch again.  Rather than make this a very lengthy answer, please refer to Rule 7.05.C for all pitching limitations, particularly Chart 7.05.C-1 and Rules 7.05.C.1 through 7.05.C.7 in the USSSA rules which can be found on the WTYBA website.  There you will find "one day maximum to pitch the next day", "one day maximum", "three day maximum", and "mandatory days of rest".  Please note there is a difference in the "one day maximum" for ages 7U-12U and 13U-14U.

 

 


Question:

If a pop fly is caught but the glove falls off the hand and the ball stays in the glove. What is the ruling?

Answer:

No catch because the fielder has no control of the baseball.  On the other hand...ground ball back to a pitcher (or any infielder for that matter) who fields the ball and can't get it out of his glove so he tosses glove and ball to first baseman ahead of the runner, then you have an out because both were in control of the ball. The fact that it is in the glove makes no difference. But on a "perceived catch in question" when ball is in glove, but fielder has no control, it is definitely not a catch. One more example...line drive hit directly at a fielder that rips his glove off, but ball stays in...is definitely not a catch. 

For any "catch" to be ruled an out, the fielder must perform "voluntary release" of the ball by removing the ball from the glove with the non-glove hand. 

2/5/2015